I am thinking of redesign the layout of my blog again. How often do you redesign blog? As a web designer by trade I get bored with the design easily and constantly want to change it. Is it a bad idea to keep changing the look of your blog?

Views: 3

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I just started blogging about 3 months ago so I haven't yet changed the design of my blog, but I'd definitely like to. Unfortunately, I just don't have the time to learn how to do it and I don't have the money to pay someone to redesign it - it cost me a lot of money just to get this design up and running.

I think you can change your design as often as you like, but it might be smart to keep a certain kind of theme so that your blog is instantly recognizable to your loyal followers - kwim? You can change a bunch of things on it, but maybe keep a few things constant so that you don't throw everyone off?

Andrea
The Creative Junkie
http://www.thecreativejunkie.com
For the first six months I redesigned a lot. I was learning more and more about web design and photoshop and was constantly tweaking my banner/header. I've finally settled on one I love and I've had it up for over 3 months now.

I don't think it's a bad idea to keep changing the look, a lot of bloggers do the 'new month, new logo' thing which is pretty cool.
I think it is your blog and you need to do whatever you like. I personally like to change mine up a bit becasue I get bored w/ it!
I've changed my design five times in the past three years. I think I've finally found something I'm willing to stick with. It's pretty versatile and easy on the eyes. I also paid for it and I'm all about getting my money's worth!
When I first started in March, I changed my header every week. I have Photoshop and tons of digiscrap, so it was fun. I'm happy with my new layout, so i'll keep it for a while..maybe until fall and then i'll switch it up again!