We just had CES in Vegas, Chicks Who Click in Boulder, CO last week. Blissdom and Mom 2.0 Summit in February, SXSW Interactive in March, BlogHer in July, and BlogWorld & New Media Expo in October are coming up, too, as are lots of smaller and more regional ones.

Are you planning to go to any social media/tech conference? If so, which ones?

And if not, why? (money, intimidated, child care issues, can't get time off work, I go to non-tech conferences instead, etc.)

Tags: conferences

Views: 2

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I'm not planning to go to any conferences this year. I am pretty new to blogging and the money just isn't there to go anywhere this year. I wish I would have known about Chicks Who Click because Boulder would have been very doable.
It was a bit pricey at $175 for one day, but worth it for the networking.
I'm not going to any - I'm in Canada and most are stateside. Plus, there's the whole day job and paying the mortgage thing to worry about as well ;)
I'll be at all except Chicks who Click and not sure on Mom 2.0 Summit yet.
I can't afford them. :( BOO HOO. I wish I could find a sponsor to Blissdom 09 so bad!
Can't go (but would love to) since I'm in Paris. Do you know of any conferences in Europe (besides CEBIT which has become the joke of the European IT industry. Only the Germans attend).

What exactly goes on at these blogging conferences? Or more specifically, if I'm not reviewing or selling anything on my blog, how can I benefit from a conference? I just tell stories, complain about the French, and dish on my bitchy expat friends. I would love to pick up new readers, but I'm not sure how attending a conference (vs. being a speaker or being profiled) can get more people reading the La Mom blog.