Okay so I admit, I'm new to blogging.  I've never really read too many before, but lately I've been delving into the wonderful world of blogging.  One thing that I like to check out is the Blog's Alexa Ranking to see how well they are doing (it gives me hope for mine) and I'm shocked at how many blogs that I see that have a high ranking and are using Blogger. 

I have never used Blogger, but it's my understanding that if you use it then you don't own the domain name right??  If I'm right, then why work so hard to get that ranking when you don't even own it?  Especially when it's so easy to buy your own domain name and your own hosting.  There are lot of good hosting companies out there that you can get plans that are $5 a month. 

Host Gator, Blue Host, Go Daddy to name a few.  You can buy the domain name through them, they all have an easy wizard that installs Wordpress for you and your set.  Plus wordpress has a lot of plug ins if you ever want to expand your blog to include a community, forum, seo, etc it's unlimited.

The great thing about having your own hosting is if your blog does start getting a lot of traffic you can have them move it to a virtual server, so your site can handle it without slowing down.

I've also heard stories about Blogger deleting peoples blogs, which I guess they can do because they own it.

Anyway, I hate to see all your hard work go to waste.  It's really worth paying $5 a month to host your own blog.

What do you think?

Tags: blogger, hosting, wordpress

Views: 9

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

i am using blogspot.. and i bought my own domain from them too..

http://reanaclaire.com

but im interested to change to my own self host one day.. Is Go Daddy reliable?  My blog is PR3 at the moment, and I worry that it will be 0 once i changed..