How to Become a Product Reviewer

Information

How to Become a Product Reviewer

Tips, tricks and general advice on how to get in on PR/giveaways for your blog

Website: http://www.ozoneexpertsblog.com
Members: 625
Latest Activity: on Monday

Discussion Forum

How To: Product Review-Tips

Started by Monique. Last reply by Barbara Mehmel Jun 8, 2011. 6 Replies

Media Kit Template

Started by Monique. Last reply by Burundanguitas Apr 7, 2011. 6 Replies

Product Reviewing: How to get started

Started by Monique. Last reply by Kimberly Odom Oct 13, 2011. 15 Replies

Comment Wall

Comment

You need to be a member of How to Become a Product Reviewer to add comments!

Comment by Angie Christensen on January 29, 2010 at 6:14pm
If you're asked to review a product, of course it's important to be honest. I decided when I started my blog that it would be informative, positive, and fun to read as I try to include little anecdotes about the products I review and how they've worked for me and my family. I think I'll stick to contacting companies that make products I like. Thanks for all the input. You guys are so helpful.
Comment by Tami W. on January 29, 2010 at 4:16pm
Yeah, and with working for a publishing company, I know when books suck! (At least in my personal opinion!) And when I am finished reviewing the book (any book) I donate it to my local library. They either add it into the collection or they put it in the Friends of the Library sale.
Comment by Richele on January 29, 2010 at 4:08pm
I gave a negative book review once...I didn't think it was so bad..I thought I focused objectively...but the lady never sent me another book. Just as well..I'm not compromising my intergrity for a free book. LOL.
Comment by Tami W. on January 29, 2010 at 4:07pm
I will post a review (negatively) if I can put a nice spin on it. If it is so horrible that I can't put a nice spin on it, I will still write it up with my honest opinion and let the company decide if they would like to have it up or not. I've only had one like that. It was a book review and ICK!
Comment by amanada peel on January 29, 2010 at 4:03pm
It's okay to write a negative review. There is no doubt you will eventually end up with something that you do not like or a product that doesn't work or doesn't do what it says it will do. Having a few negative reviews or reviews that that express a bad experience show your readers and other companies that you are posting honestly about your feelings and experience with the different products that you try.
Comment by The Happy Little Wren on January 28, 2010 at 9:37pm
The Happy Little Wren has it's Friday linky up!
Go and post your giveaways!

http://www.thehappylittlewren.com/2010/01/fabulous-friday-giveaways...
Comment by Christy on January 28, 2010 at 2:14pm
Thanks for bringing me back to reality, Ellen! I watch too much CSI!

Hey mamas! Wanted to invite y'all to join the new group #MBC Live Twitter Chat! Trying to get a group of mamas together that want to participate in a live Twitter Chat, maybe once a week. (#MBC) I thought it would be cool if we could connect, chat about our blogs, reviews, etc
Comment by Ellen C on January 28, 2010 at 5:40am
I've spoken on the phone with several companies about review products. I'ts not unusual. Nobody is going to scam you just by knowing your addresss. It's a matter of public record. Anyone can go into your town or county office and request that and more. I can understand being careful but don't worry about something that common. Now if he wanted your social security number and your maiden name, I'd question it.
Comment by Cheri Elmore on January 28, 2010 at 2:50am
Kylee Thx for the heads up on truetwit- I do remember one of those being sent to me when I followed a Blogger once. I will definitely have to get that!
Thanks Tami for explaining how that happens sometimes...
On another note, I am now curious as to what the others of you are talking about. The letter received for a book review...
This is raising questions as to how I will know when a legit e-mail is sent versus a fishing or scam thing... AND how are they getting your e-mail (unless it is in your contact info) - To prevent phishing stuff do you have instructions in your contact info to list something specific or what have you so bots can't get through? I don't want to send my addy & ph # to someone thinking it is for a Vitamix (my dream) and end up getting scammed. Although many people have my address, I don't know how people can scam you by having your address that is already pretty public knowledge, just not everyone on the internet knowing it. Can anyone explain this? Sry it turned into a few questions all in one thought.
I guess I will be researching companies with a fine tooth comb!
Oh! Does anyone ever get phone calls for reviews or at least speak on the phone w/ any companies/PR Reps once the initial offer is given to go over details, etc? Thx guys!
Oh! & Good Luck w/ the new review for those who will be doing it.
Comment by Christy on January 28, 2010 at 1:45am
Hey Richele: Check your MBC inbox...I looked him up too, seems legit but so much for being special :P
 

Members (625)

 
 
 

Daily Blog Prompt

Question of the Day

Favorite Books

For all of you avid readers out there, today is World Book Day. What's your favorite book?

Join the conversation to win a free Starbucks gift card. And, see yesterday's winner!


A SPECIAL GREETING FROM FRAN DRESCHER

MOM BLOGGERS FOR SOCIAL GOOD

Mom Bloggers for Social Good is a global coalition of 2000+ mom bloggers who currently span over twenty countries and who care about spreading the good news about the amazing work non-profit organizations and NGOs are doing around the world. Want to make a difference? Please join us!

© 2015   Created by Mom Bloggers Club.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service