How to Become a Product Reviewer

Information

How to Become a Product Reviewer

Tips, tricks and general advice on how to get in on PR/giveaways for your blog

Website: http://www.ozoneexpertsblog.com
Members: 615
Latest Activity: Nov 7

Discussion Forum

How To: Product Review-Tips

Started by Monique. Last reply by Barbara Mehmel Jun 8, 2011. 6 Replies

Media Kit Template

Started by Monique. Last reply by Burundanguitas Apr 7, 2011. 6 Replies

Product Reviewing: How to get started

Started by Monique. Last reply by Kimberly Odom Oct 13, 2011. 15 Replies

Comment Wall

Comment

You need to be a member of How to Become a Product Reviewer to add comments!

Comment by Ellen C on January 30, 2010 at 2:26pm
Yes, unfortunately I've had it happen several times. I generally follow up with an email a month or so later just letting them know that I haven't received it and asking if theyr'e still interested in having me review their products. If they follow up great. If not :( Very frustrating.
Comment by Richele on January 30, 2010 at 2:25pm
Okay..thanks then I will stop worrying about it. lol. I try to inform companies when the package arrives and when the review will post. So, I will just tell companies that I will contact them when it arrives. I'll email one time after a few weeks just to be sure and then I'll let it go. THANKS!
Comment by Kailani on January 30, 2010 at 2:22pm
I'm surprised at how often this happens. I usually follow-up with the company once to make sure it just didn't get lost in the mail. Sometimes they say they'll send another one and that one doesn't arrive either. After that I just take it off my pending list. :-)
Comment by Richele on January 30, 2010 at 2:19pm
Hey have you ladies ever been told by a company they would send a product but it never arrives? I was told by a company that they were sending out a product and so far it hasn't shown up. It was for a personalized book. Because the guy asked in great detail how I wanted the book, I assumed he was sincere. He then told me it would be mailed out on a certain date. After a few weeks, I emailed him ONLY because I was concerned it got lost in the mail and I didn't want to be responsible for it or appear to have ignored my end of the deal. He said he'd check into it and apologized. It's been almost another two weeks and nothing. Now, I don't care if I get the book or not. That's not my concern. I am just curious if this happens alot. I hate to keep bugging the guy...but I am trying to cover my end. I would hate for him to think I got the free product and didn't write the review. There is another product I was told is in the mail but that's weeks old also. Again, I don't care about the product..I care that I don't want to appear to be ignoring my end or end up responsible for it. Ya know? So does this happen and if so how have you all handled it?
Comment by Richele on January 29, 2010 at 10:07pm
You make perfect sense Cheri. So far I haven't had to deal with a bad review since I picked just about everything I reviewed. And if offered to review something, I only say yes if it's something I'm interested in. I did review a few books poorly...but so far the products I have reviewed have been great. I think I am going to revise how I review items though...more specific..like saying if I would actually buy it or recommend it or buy it as a gift. I think I will clearly mark good and negative points. I hate to sound like I love everything. lol. I also see no need to comprise integrity for a free item.

I do like your point, Cheri, that it is not up to the company if you post a negative review. Recently, I heard the worst CD of my life..lol...I told the PR lady and she just told me not to review it. I really didn't care. But now that I think about it...I have every right to state my opinion...it's not up to a PR lady what I write. Good point!!! LOL...and my review blog is called Mean Mama..so I need to live up that, right! LOL.
Comment by Cheri Elmore on January 29, 2010 at 7:16pm
I also agree on totally honest reviews. I mean that is exactly what the company is asking for... a review NOT a commercial. & I don't think it should be up to the company to not want a review posted if there is something negative to report, I think it is our responsibility as moms, consumers, & wives to still speak honestly.
If I don't like my new DVD player because it always stops, or overheats after one movie, or what have you.. I am telling my friends about it & I don't contact the company to tell them I am telling people about the "bad". If I like the fact it only cost $XX and can hook up with just the one wire that came with it in the box, and needs no instructions that even a 5 yr old could operate it... I would tell my friends that too! If all reviews are good, nice, even if it is a sugar coated review that doesn't tell "would you really buy this again or recommend it" then it is not fair to our readers.
If I am contacting companies to inquire about doing a review though, I will probably contact more companies I already know & love- So, it would be natural that you may still like the products more often than not. As a reader though, if I am looking for a review on something, I want to know about the good and the bad...and if you would buy it again or recommend it to others. Let ME decide what it is worth for me to try the product.
Comment by Richele on January 29, 2010 at 7:01pm
Well stated Angie! I totally agree. I have tried to make my reviews as fun to read as blog posts.
Comment by Angie Christensen on January 29, 2010 at 6:14pm
If you're asked to review a product, of course it's important to be honest. I decided when I started my blog that it would be informative, positive, and fun to read as I try to include little anecdotes about the products I review and how they've worked for me and my family. I think I'll stick to contacting companies that make products I like. Thanks for all the input. You guys are so helpful.
Comment by Tami W. on January 29, 2010 at 4:16pm
Yeah, and with working for a publishing company, I know when books suck! (At least in my personal opinion!) And when I am finished reviewing the book (any book) I donate it to my local library. They either add it into the collection or they put it in the Friends of the Library sale.
Comment by Richele on January 29, 2010 at 4:08pm
I gave a negative book review once...I didn't think it was so bad..I thought I focused objectively...but the lady never sent me another book. Just as well..I'm not compromising my intergrity for a free book. LOL.
 

Members (613)

 
 
 

12/19/14 DAILY BLOG PROMPT

A SPECIAL GREETING FROM FRAN DRESCHER

MOM BLOGGERS FOR SOCIAL GOOD

Mom Bloggers for Social Good is a global coalition of 2000+ mom bloggers who currently span over twenty countries and who care about spreading the good news about the amazing work non-profit organizations and NGOs are doing around the world.  Want to make a difference? Please join us!

Toxic Free Blog - by Brittany Glynn


Brittany is a director of the Toxic Free Foundation and created the first ever Toxic Free Certification Program.  Weekly, Brittany publishes the Toxic Free Blog and provides coaching to over 10,000 families in the United States alone.  She is the author of a Toxic Free educational series and co-author of several Toxic Free learning programs. Brittany is also an award winning author. 

© 2014   Created by Mom Bloggers Club.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service