How to Become a Product Reviewer

Information

How to Become a Product Reviewer

Tips, tricks and general advice on how to get in on PR/giveaways for your blog

Website: http://www.ozoneexpertsblog.com
Members: 625
Latest Activity: Mar 23

Discussion Forum

How To: Product Review-Tips

Started by Monique. Last reply by Barbara Mehmel Jun 8, 2011. 6 Replies

Media Kit Template

Started by Monique. Last reply by Burundanguitas Apr 7, 2011. 6 Replies

Product Reviewing: How to get started

Started by Monique. Last reply by Kimberly Odom Oct 13, 2011. 15 Replies

Comment Wall

Comment

You need to be a member of How to Become a Product Reviewer to add comments!

Comment by Cheri Elmore on January 29, 2010 at 7:16pm
I also agree on totally honest reviews. I mean that is exactly what the company is asking for... a review NOT a commercial. & I don't think it should be up to the company to not want a review posted if there is something negative to report, I think it is our responsibility as moms, consumers, & wives to still speak honestly.
If I don't like my new DVD player because it always stops, or overheats after one movie, or what have you.. I am telling my friends about it & I don't contact the company to tell them I am telling people about the "bad". If I like the fact it only cost $XX and can hook up with just the one wire that came with it in the box, and needs no instructions that even a 5 yr old could operate it... I would tell my friends that too! If all reviews are good, nice, even if it is a sugar coated review that doesn't tell "would you really buy this again or recommend it" then it is not fair to our readers.
If I am contacting companies to inquire about doing a review though, I will probably contact more companies I already know & love- So, it would be natural that you may still like the products more often than not. As a reader though, if I am looking for a review on something, I want to know about the good and the bad...and if you would buy it again or recommend it to others. Let ME decide what it is worth for me to try the product.
Comment by Richele on January 29, 2010 at 7:01pm
Well stated Angie! I totally agree. I have tried to make my reviews as fun to read as blog posts.
Comment by Angie Christensen on January 29, 2010 at 6:14pm
If you're asked to review a product, of course it's important to be honest. I decided when I started my blog that it would be informative, positive, and fun to read as I try to include little anecdotes about the products I review and how they've worked for me and my family. I think I'll stick to contacting companies that make products I like. Thanks for all the input. You guys are so helpful.
Comment by Tami W. on January 29, 2010 at 4:16pm
Yeah, and with working for a publishing company, I know when books suck! (At least in my personal opinion!) And when I am finished reviewing the book (any book) I donate it to my local library. They either add it into the collection or they put it in the Friends of the Library sale.
Comment by Richele on January 29, 2010 at 4:08pm
I gave a negative book review once...I didn't think it was so bad..I thought I focused objectively...but the lady never sent me another book. Just as well..I'm not compromising my intergrity for a free book. LOL.
Comment by Tami W. on January 29, 2010 at 4:07pm
I will post a review (negatively) if I can put a nice spin on it. If it is so horrible that I can't put a nice spin on it, I will still write it up with my honest opinion and let the company decide if they would like to have it up or not. I've only had one like that. It was a book review and ICK!
Comment by amanada peel on January 29, 2010 at 4:03pm
It's okay to write a negative review. There is no doubt you will eventually end up with something that you do not like or a product that doesn't work or doesn't do what it says it will do. Having a few negative reviews or reviews that that express a bad experience show your readers and other companies that you are posting honestly about your feelings and experience with the different products that you try.
Comment by The Happy Little Wren on January 28, 2010 at 9:37pm
The Happy Little Wren has it's Friday linky up!
Go and post your giveaways!

http://www.thehappylittlewren.com/2010/01/fabulous-friday-giveaways...
Comment by Christy on January 28, 2010 at 2:14pm
Thanks for bringing me back to reality, Ellen! I watch too much CSI!

Hey mamas! Wanted to invite y'all to join the new group #MBC Live Twitter Chat! Trying to get a group of mamas together that want to participate in a live Twitter Chat, maybe once a week. (#MBC) I thought it would be cool if we could connect, chat about our blogs, reviews, etc
Comment by Ellen C on January 28, 2010 at 5:40am
I've spoken on the phone with several companies about review products. I'ts not unusual. Nobody is going to scam you just by knowing your addresss. It's a matter of public record. Anyone can go into your town or county office and request that and more. I can understand being careful but don't worry about something that common. Now if he wanted your social security number and your maiden name, I'd question it.
 

Members (625)

 
 
 

FIND US ON SOCIAL MEDIA

Blog Prompt

Question of the Day

Share Your Favorite Post

What is your most-loved post? Leave a link and tell us why it's your favorite.

Join the conversation to win a free gift. And, see yesterday's winner!


A SPECIAL GREETING FROM FRAN DRESCHER

© 2015   Created by Mom Bloggers Club.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service