How to Become a Product Reviewer


How to Become a Product Reviewer

Tips, tricks and general advice on how to get in on PR/giveaways for your blog

Members: 627
Latest Activity: yesterday

Discussion Forum

How To: Product Review-Tips

Started by Monique. Last reply by Barbara Mehmel Jun 8, 2011. 6 Replies

Media Kit Template

Started by Monique. Last reply by Burundanguitas Apr 7, 2011. 6 Replies

Product Reviewing: How to get started

Started by Monique. Last reply by Kimberly Odom Oct 13, 2011. 15 Replies

Comment Wall


You need to be a member of How to Become a Product Reviewer to add comments!

Comment by Ellen C on February 3, 2010 at 6:53pm
I agree. Google page rank is important & many sites want to know your stats. Focus on getting traffic & good content and the rest will follow easy enough.
Comment by Ethel on February 3, 2010 at 6:42pm
Having a lot of followers is not good enough. You need traffics, high page rank and subscribers.
Comment by Katie on February 3, 2010 at 6:38pm
A great way to do that is with some of the groups on here.....some are follow me ill follow you groups!
Comment by Ethel on February 3, 2010 at 6:36pm
I would love to know what other companies that are friendly to new bloggers? Companies that do not ask for stats.
Comment by Ethel on February 3, 2010 at 6:30pm
yea i love this group! even though I don't post much I do come here every time I get an email that someone posted. This group gave me confident to reach out to company. Thanks to Richele I got my first review and giveaway with So Smart! I also emailed a few other such as piggy paint, an iPhone app, earth baby and country bobs sauce with great responsen. They did not ask for stats.

I only had one company asked for my stats and since it's not good enough :( she said she will consider me next time.

Only one company contacted me to do a review or giveaway but not both I decided to do a giveaway to increase traffic and followers.
Comment by Ellen C on February 3, 2010 at 6:20pm
I contact companies & have companies contact me. You're really not going to start seeing many places contact you until you are actually reviewing products. Even many of the mommy blogging communities are not going to include you in offers until your followers have increased and you are actually doing reviews. I highly recommend you grab a few things from around your house that you already own and start posting reviews just so you have some on your site.
Comment by Richele on February 3, 2010 at 5:14pm
I normally contact the company. I have had offers....but the bulk of the pr I get is from me seeking out the company.

I just got my book in the mail today from that's really a nice book!
Comment by Tiffany Derr on February 3, 2010 at 5:07pm
Everyone who had received an email from a gentleman regarding a book, I got mine today!!! Exciting! This is my FIRST product review and I hope to get more soon. I've applied to a couple of websites for product reviewing but have not heard anything back. I do product reviews on both, Blogger AND YouTube (it's a mommy community!). Not really sure what else to do but sit and wait.

How many of you go out and contact companies about product reviews? How many of you wait until someone contacts YOU? Thanks!
Comment by Richele on February 3, 2010 at 4:56pm
I usually get responses right away. Sometimes getting the product to me take awhile...I waited a month for Tupperware. However, most people interested will get back to me in a few days...sometimes the same day.

I would not contact companies about an up and coming blog...but that's me. I've only been doing this for a few months so I may know nothing. lol. Some ask for stats and some do not. When you get your blog join another group on here to get followers. My group: Friends Following Friends is a good one! LOL. However, I have seen blogs with under 100 followers who get reviews. So, I wouldn't let any of that stop me. However, I would wait until I have a blog. In the meantime, come up with a list of contacts and a media kit. Get a form letter ready so you can just copy and paste to all the emails you will send out. You can still personalize your letter a bit but the bulk of it will be rehashing from email to email so save yourself sometime typing.

Try The Product Review Place. They are always offers for reviews there.
Comment by Cheri Elmore on February 3, 2010 at 4:51pm
I am still waiting for my brother to finish my Blog set up... I am getting so anxious but I know getting something great done for Free, I shouldn't complain... At any rate, I am getting great advice here from everyone and I have saved many sites and groups to sign up for.
I notice many of you say that you send e-mails/letters and it may be weeks or months before you hear anything...
Should I jump out and start contacting companies as an "up & coming Blogger" or just wait until my Blog opens? (I really don't want to give out the site address until I am ready for people to visit) - But do you all notice a trend w/ manufacturers/ PR reps... Do most want an established Blogger to do reviews or are there some companies who will allow anyone to do a review?
I also notice that MomSelect has a choice to choose if you are a "mom" or a "mom blogger" ... I don't want to sign up as one category though and end up being a different category very soon... Has anyone signed up as just a "Mom" before with them and then changed their status? Should I do this? or just wait...

Members (627)




MBC Cutie: Braelyn uploaded by member, Rebecca Hester. Upload your cutie and they may be featured here.

Our Latest Food, Travel & Lifestyle Posts


Ask any pregnant woman and she will tell you that now she’s expecting what once smelled delicious  - like roasting coffee beans for example, has suddenly become the one smell that induces an overwhelming feeling of nausea. For some women the pregnant nose goes into smell overdrive with incredible detection ability, in fact increased smell sensitivity can save lives. Just ask your local gas company – pregnant…

Black Friday – it’s Not Just About Fashion

Fashion, eh? It comes and goes, then comes back around again, at once fleeting and eternal. A style is in one month and then is never heard of again – until it is heard of again, of course.

The quest for fashionable clothes never ends; it’s just that what is in vogue is always changing.…


© 2016   Created by Mom Bloggers Club.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service