How to Become a Product Reviewer

Information

How to Become a Product Reviewer

Tips, tricks and general advice on how to get in on PR/giveaways for your blog

Website: http://www.ozoneexpertsblog.com
Members: 615
Latest Activity: Sep 13

Discussion Forum

How To: Product Review-Tips

Started by Monique. Last reply by Barbara Mehmel Jun 8, 2011. 6 Replies

Media Kit Template

Started by Monique. Last reply by Burundanguitas Apr 7, 2011. 6 Replies

Product Reviewing: How to get started

Started by Monique. Last reply by Kimberly Odom Oct 13, 2011. 15 Replies

Comment Wall

Comment

You need to be a member of How to Become a Product Reviewer to add comments!

Comment by Hannah on February 5, 2010 at 3:15pm
Thanks Heather!
I am looking into MamaBzz, and already signed up with FIRST Wild Card! I will check out TOS, but since I am starting a home business with Melaleuca, I may have to hold off on that for a while!
Comment by Heather MarineCorpsNomads on February 5, 2010 at 2:20pm
Hannah, I review for the TOS Homeschool Crew. They'll be interviewing for new reviewers in the next few months. It's a year long commitment, so it's something you have to really think about. While you get to review a great number of amazing products, you do not get to pick which products you review. Overall, I've enjoyed it, and it's been a blessing to our family.

The other place where I've received some homeschool type books for review is FIRST Wild Card tour. It's a book review group, but sometimes you'll get the opportunity to review homeschool things. MamaBzz is another group you might want to check out.
Comment by Richele on February 5, 2010 at 2:03pm
I only had two experiences so far of companies I would not deal with. I don't mind telling you about it. First Time Books, promised to do a review. They make personalized books. They got all the information from me to personalize the book. I did not get it. Well, since they went to so much trouble asking me all these questions to make the book, I didn't think they would not send it. So, I contacted them. I was told the book was made but they would have to check it out and get back to me. Never got back to me and never got the book. Couldn't they just say they changed their minds? Or just hold up to their end of the bargain? The guy even told me to give his email address to other bloggers..so I did list it here...maybe it's only fair I tell you what happened to me. If anyone has a good experience with them...please post it..I'd love to know if I just got overlooked or if they are jerk. lol

Honestly, I cannot remember the name of the company that asked me to do a preview post...it was some green baby clothing company.

GOOD company: Flip Along Fun. They actually advertised to get bloggers on The Product Review Place.
Comment by Cheri Elmore on February 5, 2010 at 1:52pm
Richele,
Thx for actually listing some companies that you have had positive experience with.
Would those of you who are posting about a "company" who has not sent products, or a "company" who has asked for shipping paid, review to be written in advance, etc... Can you please tell us the company? I mean, there shouldn't be anything wrong with having a Bulldog List of companies to be weary of due to... situation to situation... - It's great to give us an alert of what to watch out for from any company who asks these things but if personal experience has already had a few of you find what some companies will do just to get free publicity, it would be nice to know as a newbie trying to break out in this venue.
Thx!
Comment by Hannah on February 5, 2010 at 1:49pm
What are some good places that offer homeschool products to review?
Comment by Richele on February 5, 2010 at 1:34pm
Heather...you can contact Mixes from the Heartland. They have all gluten free products and do blogger reviews all the time. Yes to Cookies is also gluten fee and they do reviews and giveaways.
Comment by Heather MarineCorpsNomads on February 5, 2010 at 1:17pm
That's what I was thinking, but I thought I'd ask to be sure.

I'm slowly branching out from doing book reviews and homeschool curriculum reviews right now. We can't do Holey Donuts (we're gluten free) or So Smart (no babies or toddlers), but thanks for sharing.

I sent out emails to a few companies yesterday and received a few positive responses already. The asking to pay for shipping just threw me a bit.
Comment by Richele on February 5, 2010 at 12:54pm
Good for you Marcy. I'm new to this also but it's a red flag to have a company ask you to post a review without a product. That is just plain dishonest anyway. If they are asking you to be dishonest, then I wouldn't count on them.

Blog space is ONLY for companies who have provided a complimentary product to review that you have IN HAND. That's my philosophy and that is what I have already told one company.
Comment by Richele on February 5, 2010 at 12:52pm
I would never pay the shipping. That is silly. I would turn them down. You are doing them a service. Remember that. If you were a newspaper, they would pay big money for the type of advertising you are offering. Maybe you don't reach as many as a newspaper but you reach enough to merit them paying shipping. I never had a company ask for that. Don't do it. Unless it is completely free to you...turn it down. Don't do any reviews based on websites or press releases either. And turn down anyone who wants you to post a review but promises to send the item later. ONLY review products sent to you completely free and that includes shipping.

You said you are new to this? Contact Holey Donuts..just to go the site. They love mom blogger reviews and they have a contest going on now. If you want to review baby/toddler dvds, contact So Smart...they love mom reviews also. You can sign up to review books at BookSneeze.com...they are christian books though. Contact Corel for a reveiw on their Digital Studio 2010...I think they are still accepting offers. Their product is $100 and they sent it free and want you to do a giveaway. My giveaway is going on right now. Vistaprint..another good one. Just visit the blogs from the women on this site..and get ideas of who to contact.
Comment by Marcy Kennedy on February 5, 2010 at 12:48pm
I'm certainly not a review guru; however, I'm picky about reviewing any product. I wouldn't pay for any shipping. That's crazy that they even asked you!

I had one company last night ask me to post something by this Sunday; I have yet to get the product. I don't think it's even shipped yet; I told them that I couldn't post anything until I had a product to review and post about! We'll see what happens!
 

Members (613)

 
 
 

Advertisement

MARKETPLACE

ADVERTISEMENT

Link to Us

Loading…

© 2014   Created by Mom Bloggers Club.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service