Advertisement

How to Become a Product Reviewer

Information

How to Become a Product Reviewer

Tips, tricks and general advice on how to get in on PR/giveaways for your blog

Website: http://www.ozoneexpertsblog.com
Members: 625
Latest Activity: on Sunday

Discussion Forum

How To: Product Review-Tips

Started by Monique. Last reply by Barbara Mehmel Jun 8, 2011. 6 Replies

Media Kit Template

Started by Monique. Last reply by Burundanguitas Apr 7, 2011. 6 Replies

Product Reviewing: How to get started

Started by Monique. Last reply by Kimberly Odom Oct 13, 2011. 15 Replies

Comment Wall

Comment

You need to be a member of How to Become a Product Reviewer to add comments!

Comment by Cheri Elmore on February 5, 2010 at 1:52pm
Richele,
Thx for actually listing some companies that you have had positive experience with.
Would those of you who are posting about a "company" who has not sent products, or a "company" who has asked for shipping paid, review to be written in advance, etc... Can you please tell us the company? I mean, there shouldn't be anything wrong with having a Bulldog List of companies to be weary of due to... situation to situation... - It's great to give us an alert of what to watch out for from any company who asks these things but if personal experience has already had a few of you find what some companies will do just to get free publicity, it would be nice to know as a newbie trying to break out in this venue.
Thx!
Comment by Hannah on February 5, 2010 at 1:49pm
What are some good places that offer homeschool products to review?
Comment by Richele on February 5, 2010 at 1:34pm
Heather...you can contact Mixes from the Heartland. They have all gluten free products and do blogger reviews all the time. Yes to Cookies is also gluten fee and they do reviews and giveaways.
Comment by Heather MarineCorpsNomads on February 5, 2010 at 1:17pm
That's what I was thinking, but I thought I'd ask to be sure.

I'm slowly branching out from doing book reviews and homeschool curriculum reviews right now. We can't do Holey Donuts (we're gluten free) or So Smart (no babies or toddlers), but thanks for sharing.

I sent out emails to a few companies yesterday and received a few positive responses already. The asking to pay for shipping just threw me a bit.
Comment by Richele on February 5, 2010 at 12:54pm
Good for you Marcy. I'm new to this also but it's a red flag to have a company ask you to post a review without a product. That is just plain dishonest anyway. If they are asking you to be dishonest, then I wouldn't count on them.

Blog space is ONLY for companies who have provided a complimentary product to review that you have IN HAND. That's my philosophy and that is what I have already told one company.
Comment by Richele on February 5, 2010 at 12:52pm
I would never pay the shipping. That is silly. I would turn them down. You are doing them a service. Remember that. If you were a newspaper, they would pay big money for the type of advertising you are offering. Maybe you don't reach as many as a newspaper but you reach enough to merit them paying shipping. I never had a company ask for that. Don't do it. Unless it is completely free to you...turn it down. Don't do any reviews based on websites or press releases either. And turn down anyone who wants you to post a review but promises to send the item later. ONLY review products sent to you completely free and that includes shipping.

You said you are new to this? Contact Holey Donuts..just to go the site. They love mom blogger reviews and they have a contest going on now. If you want to review baby/toddler dvds, contact So Smart...they love mom reviews also. You can sign up to review books at BookSneeze.com...they are christian books though. Contact Corel for a reveiw on their Digital Studio 2010...I think they are still accepting offers. Their product is $100 and they sent it free and want you to do a giveaway. My giveaway is going on right now. Vistaprint..another good one. Just visit the blogs from the women on this site..and get ideas of who to contact.
Comment by Marcy Kennedy on February 5, 2010 at 12:48pm
I'm certainly not a review guru; however, I'm picky about reviewing any product. I wouldn't pay for any shipping. That's crazy that they even asked you!

I had one company last night ask me to post something by this Sunday; I have yet to get the product. I don't think it's even shipped yet; I told them that I couldn't post anything until I had a product to review and post about! We'll see what happens!
Comment by Heather MarineCorpsNomads on February 5, 2010 at 12:39pm
I just had a company want me to pay shipping for a review product. I've never paid shipping for any review products before, but I'm still pretty new to this. Is this something that is normal?
Comment by Marcy Kennedy on February 5, 2010 at 11:17am
Hi! Happy Friday!

I just posted a review of The Couponizer! I would love any feedback you can afford me! http://thefrugalkennedys.blogspot.com/2010/02/couponizer-review.html
Comment by Ellen C on February 4, 2010 at 11:05pm
Yes. I think it's a gimick to get something for nothing. I've also had companies (book companies) say that they would send me the book but that it might be late but would I please post a review or spotlight right away anyway. I fell for it twice. Both times I never got a book & to this day have never gotten a book. I won't do it again.
 

Members (624)

 
 
 

ADVERTISEMENT

MBC CUTIES

Our current cutie was uploaded by Katka Konecna RiveraUpload a photo of your cutie. They may be featured here. See all of the cuties.

Our Latest Food, Travel & Lifestyle Posts

How Candles Can Uplift Your Mood and Décor

Candles in your home can instantly make you happier and more peaceful when your mood needs a little adjusting and can also make your living area look fabulous at the same time. Candles with various fragrances can also put you in a better mood through aromatherapy. Just think about vanilla…

5 Occasions to Send Flowers to Your Mom Other Than on Mother’s Day

There are few gifts one can receive than a fresh bouquet of flowers. It even goes without saying that Mother’s Day is one of the leading occasions when flowers are gifted to mothers all over the world. Everything from beautiful bouquets of roses to orchids to brilliant sunflowers brighten any mom’s special…

Advertisement

ADVERTISEMENT

VISIT THESE BLOGGERS

ADVERTISE

© 2016   Created by Mom Bloggers Club.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service