How to Become a Product Reviewer

Information

How to Become a Product Reviewer

Tips, tricks and general advice on how to get in on PR/giveaways for your blog

Website: http://www.ozoneexpertsblog.com
Members: 625
Latest Activity: on Monday

Discussion Forum

How To: Product Review-Tips

Started by Monique. Last reply by Barbara Mehmel Jun 8, 2011. 6 Replies

Media Kit Template

Started by Monique. Last reply by Burundanguitas Apr 7, 2011. 6 Replies

Product Reviewing: How to get started

Started by Monique. Last reply by Kimberly Odom Oct 13, 2011. 15 Replies

Comment Wall

Comment

You need to be a member of How to Become a Product Reviewer to add comments!

Comment by Richele on February 17, 2010 at 5:16pm
Yes, Shelley is pretty awesome. Can I say I knew her first since she is part of friends following friends...who do get an extra entry on my giveaways.. just sayin' lol.
Comment by Jennifer on February 17, 2010 at 5:15pm
Richelle, is that a group on here or a website?
Comment by Richele on February 17, 2010 at 5:11pm
Thanks Shelley and Ethel. ;)

Don't take it personally if you get turned down. It doesn't mean there is something wrong with your blog. Some companies don't do blog reviews...some have too many requests..and some may only want certain stats. Even if some think your blog isn't a good fit..that isn't an insult. Just keep it up. Sign up at the The Product Review Place...they have a group where companies make pitches to the bloggers. I got about 3 reviews that way. When I respond to those I just tell them I came from the Product Review Place and that's all they need.
Comment by Heather MarineCorpsNomads on February 17, 2010 at 4:03pm
Stacie hit the nail on the head. Perseverance pays off. You can't take turn downs personally. You just move on and keep trying.
Comment by Jennifer on February 17, 2010 at 3:46pm
Thanks guys, I love to review stuff on my blog and was doing it before I realized it was actually a real blog thing. I just like to share with others things that I found I love. Holey Donuts must be an American thing, I've never heard of them or Thomas Nelson. I wonder if being Canadian makes it a little harder.
should I just send an email to the customer service dept on a website, or would you suggest emailing cs for a contact in pr?
Comment by Ellen C on February 17, 2010 at 3:14pm
I really recommend for those of you that have never done a product review or book review before to post several reviews of your own things on your blog. Almost any company is going to want to know that you know how to write a product review before they send you something to review. Just look at your book case and pick a book and review it. Even places like book companies give preference to people who have shown that they know how to review books. Sure you can request a copy from Thomas Nelson but if they only have 100 copies they will always give preference to bloggers who know (and can show) that they know what they're doing.
Comment by Emilia Osorio on February 17, 2010 at 3:04pm
I agree, Richele you helped me a lot too. I am a truly beginner not you, LOL
Comment by Heather MarineCorpsNomads on February 17, 2010 at 2:51pm
Jennifer, I say that it doesn't hurt to try. The worst thing that can happen is they won't respond or they'll say no. Also, when you are contacting companies, let them know that you are scheduling giveaways for May/June. With some companies, you really do need to schedule in advance.
Comment by Richele on February 17, 2010 at 2:31pm
Jennifer....if you are into books, I would review those first. blogging for books nad thomas nelson allow anyone with a blog to review books. Also, try to review things you already have. That gives you some reviews under your belt. Also, join some groups that will gain you more followers.

Have you heard of Holey Donuts? They were my first non book review! They allow reviews without worrying too much over stats. Just go the site and use the contact form to ask about promoting them on your blog.

It never hurts to ask a company for a review. Some companies may not grant a giveaway or will only do a giveaway if you beginning while some will allow you to do both.

I suggest taking a look at reviewers blogs and contacting the smaller companies they have reviewed for to get some leads. I'm at http://www.meanmamareviews.wordpress.com.

If you blog is specific...like a homeschooling blog or a christian blog...try companies they fit that niche. That usually helps get reviews even if you are just beginning.

I am fairly new..I think I've done about 100 reviews. I guess that's still new or do I finally know something? LOL. I feel new! lol.
Comment by Jennifer on February 17, 2010 at 2:25pm
at what point is it okay to start contacting companies for giveaway opportunities, I've been blogging for about a month and have just over 70 followers. I really want to do some giveaways at the end of may/early June, but I would do some random ones before then. Is it too early in my bloggin career to try? is it too far ahead from the date I'm looking for to ask?
 

Members (625)

 
 
 

Daily Blog Prompt

Question of the Day

Social Media and Bullies

There has been a lot of talk about cyberbullying. It seems to be getting worse every year. Do you think social media has become too mean? 

Join the conversation to win a free Starbucks gift card. And, see yesterday's winner!


A SPECIAL GREETING FROM FRAN DRESCHER

MOM BLOGGERS FOR SOCIAL GOOD

Mom Bloggers for Social Good is a global coalition of 2000+ mom bloggers who currently span over twenty countries and who care about spreading the good news about the amazing work non-profit organizations and NGOs are doing around the world. Want to make a difference? Please join us!

© 2015   Created by Mom Bloggers Club.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service