ADVERTISEMENT

How to Become a Product Reviewer

Information

How to Become a Product Reviewer

Tips, tricks and general advice on how to get in on PR/giveaways for your blog

Website: http://www.ozoneexpertsblog.com
Members: 625
Latest Activity: yesterday

Discussion Forum

How To: Product Review-Tips

Started by Monique. Last reply by Barbara Mehmel Jun 8, 2011. 6 Replies

Media Kit Template

Started by Monique. Last reply by Burundanguitas Apr 7, 2011. 6 Replies

Product Reviewing: How to get started

Started by Monique. Last reply by Kimberly Odom Oct 13, 2011. 15 Replies

Comment Wall

Comment

You need to be a member of How to Become a Product Reviewer to add comments!

Comment by Richele on March 2, 2010 at 6:52pm
I'm a member of blog spark and I didn't get that! HUH..LOL. I'll have to enter your giveaway..you better tell me when it is!
Comment by Christy on March 2, 2010 at 6:50pm
Just got my first review product in the mail from blog spark and it's a great one! To be honest, I didn't even know this was what I would be getting. Just got an email about Bisquick promo and thought I would just be getting a free box of !Bisquick! Wow--got a cast iron griddle, mixing/pouring batter bowl, pancake turner and a box of Bisquick with the option to do a giveaway--pretty sweet--especially since it was a surprise!
Comment by Richele on March 2, 2010 at 4:32pm
You still review it, Jennifer. You just state in an objective and respectful way why it didn't work for you or the product is not up to par. That's the risk a company takes when allowing for reviews. I reviewed a product in a dim light and the company didn't seem to mind. I reviewed books poorly also.

If you choose to not review products you do not like, as some have blogs dedicated to only great finds, then you need to tell the company that before accepting to do the review. It's too late for that...but you can contact them and let them know that you are unable to review the product. Whatever you do, put NO money into sending it back or paying for it. They asked for an opinion and now they have one. Your job is done.

Somehow we feel that we have to give good reviews...we don't. We just review. Good or bad..it is what it is...
Comment by Jennifer on March 2, 2010 at 4:23pm
Just a thought- what happens when you review a product and you find you actually didn't like it?
Comment by Ellen C on March 2, 2010 at 6:35am
I'm wondering how you get your foot in the door for the larger products like Clarisonic, Keurig, Dyson, Cuisinart, etc? I'm doing quite well getting products & books to review now & have companies contacting me but I'd really love the opportunity to do a larger item of some sort. Do they work through groups like The Product Review Place or do they contact people directly? For those that have done a large item, is there a PR contact I should be searching for or some magic number of followers?

Ellen
http://confessionsofanover-workedmom.blogspot.ccom
Comment by Richele on March 1, 2010 at 11:42pm
Yeah Shelley, that's how they trick you...lol...they send it and then say something. They hope you will feel obligated since you already have the product..lol. I did have that happen with something but, like you, I did like it. I tell ya, blogger reviews are a cheap form of advertising, they need to relax a bit. lol. Some of those public relations people ask for too much. Some wanted me to post on both my blogs, and two sites I write for about their product. Yeah, if you pay me or send me more product. Why do I get one product for posting your review on multiple sites? I only do that by choice. They give one blogger one product for one blog...then give me more! LOL. LOL.
Comment by Richele on March 1, 2010 at 11:26pm
I told the company that it was unethical to even require such a thing. I asked, "how can I promise a good review on something I haven't reviewed?" We will see if they get back to me. LOL.
Comment by Richele on March 1, 2010 at 11:12pm
Get this! A company just told me a requirement from reviewing their product was "assurance of a positive review". I had another company tell me that if I didn't like the product to NOT review it and send it back. I understand that small businesses are strapped but asking me to be unethical is not worth me doing a review. In fact, even if I liked the product...it's just tainted now...I just can't review it.
Comment by Richele on March 1, 2010 at 6:28pm
Congrats Jennifer!

You know...is it me or am I the only one that does not care to do giveaways. lol. I know they get your followers and traffic...which is the ONLY reason I'll do them. Maybe I am must overextended with developing a curriculum and having another blog...but I like to just review and get it over with lately. lol. Yeah...that's the feeling of being overextended, huh? :) I think I will review the things I have now and then take a bit of a break.
Comment by Heather MarineCorpsNomads on March 1, 2010 at 5:03pm
If they don't want to do a giveaway, don't get discouraged. You got your foot in the door with the review. As you get more reviews under your belt, you may find the more companies are willing to do giveaways with you. Some companies just don't care to do giveaways, and others seem to be very selective on who they will work with. Keep up the good work and don't get discouraged.
 

Members (625)

 
 
 

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

Advertisement

MBC CUTIES

Our current cutie was uploaded by Stephanie WentworthUpload a photo of your cutie. They may be featured here. See all of the cuties.

Our Latest Food, Travel & Lifestyle Posts

Is Your Man Loyal Or A Cheater?

Whenever two people form a relationship, there are moments when one might believe the other is cheating on them. Whether it's out of insecurity or there are signs that just don't seem right, it is painful and betraying. The good news, there are also signs that strongly suggest your man is not running around. …

Save Money on Event Planning

Whether we like it or not, we will all at one point have to wear the event planning cap. Why is that? Because we are human, and along with our humanity come life celebrations: baby showers, weddings, graduations, anniversaries, retirements, funerals, and the list goes on and on. I'm sure that I don't…

Advertisement

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISE

© 2016   Created by Mom Bloggers Club.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service