How to Become a Product Reviewer

Information

How to Become a Product Reviewer

Tips, tricks and general advice on how to get in on PR/giveaways for your blog

Website: http://www.ozoneexpertsblog.com
Members: 614
Latest Activity: yesterday

Discussion Forum

How To: Product Review-Tips

Started by Monique. Last reply by Barbara Mehmel Jun 8, 2011. 6 Replies

Media Kit Template

Started by Monique. Last reply by Burundanguitas Apr 7, 2011. 6 Replies

Product Reviewing: How to get started

Started by Monique. Last reply by Kimberly Odom Oct 13, 2011. 15 Replies

Comment Wall

Comment

You need to be a member of How to Become a Product Reviewer to add comments!

Comment by Ellen C on February 17, 2010 at 3:14pm
I really recommend for those of you that have never done a product review or book review before to post several reviews of your own things on your blog. Almost any company is going to want to know that you know how to write a product review before they send you something to review. Just look at your book case and pick a book and review it. Even places like book companies give preference to people who have shown that they know how to review books. Sure you can request a copy from Thomas Nelson but if they only have 100 copies they will always give preference to bloggers who know (and can show) that they know what they're doing.
Comment by Emilia Osorio on February 17, 2010 at 3:04pm
I agree, Richele you helped me a lot too. I am a truly beginner not you, LOL
Comment by Heather MarineCorpsNomads on February 17, 2010 at 2:51pm
Jennifer, I say that it doesn't hurt to try. The worst thing that can happen is they won't respond or they'll say no. Also, when you are contacting companies, let them know that you are scheduling giveaways for May/June. With some companies, you really do need to schedule in advance.
Comment by Richele on February 17, 2010 at 2:31pm
Jennifer....if you are into books, I would review those first. blogging for books nad thomas nelson allow anyone with a blog to review books. Also, try to review things you already have. That gives you some reviews under your belt. Also, join some groups that will gain you more followers.

Have you heard of Holey Donuts? They were my first non book review! They allow reviews without worrying too much over stats. Just go the site and use the contact form to ask about promoting them on your blog.

It never hurts to ask a company for a review. Some companies may not grant a giveaway or will only do a giveaway if you beginning while some will allow you to do both.

I suggest taking a look at reviewers blogs and contacting the smaller companies they have reviewed for to get some leads. I'm at http://www.meanmamareviews.wordpress.com.

If you blog is specific...like a homeschooling blog or a christian blog...try companies they fit that niche. That usually helps get reviews even if you are just beginning.

I am fairly new..I think I've done about 100 reviews. I guess that's still new or do I finally know something? LOL. I feel new! lol.
Comment by Jennifer on February 17, 2010 at 2:25pm
at what point is it okay to start contacting companies for giveaway opportunities, I've been blogging for about a month and have just over 70 followers. I really want to do some giveaways at the end of may/early June, but I would do some random ones before then. Is it too early in my bloggin career to try? is it too far ahead from the date I'm looking for to ask?
Comment by Marcy Kennedy on February 17, 2010 at 7:40am
Yay! Welcome Dealightfully Frugal and all the other new members to the group!

I host a linky for giveaways so feel free to link up!
http://thefrugalkennedys.blogspot.com/2009/06/givaways-galore.html

It's fun and may generate a little traffic to your giveaway!
Comment by Katie on February 17, 2010 at 7:36am
Thank you so much for answering my questions. I will be having my first giveaway and am really nervous about it going smoothly. I decided to do only 1 method of entry to keep it simple and see how it goes. I did the google docs form and then I will have random.org generate numbers based on that....hopefully that turns out okay too. I didn't realize random could do it all without paying a fee, I will look into that....Thanks sooo much!
Comment by Katie on February 17, 2010 at 7:29am
Does random end the giveaway too? Or how do you close a giveaway at midnight? Do you stay up?
Comment by Katie on February 17, 2010 at 6:11am
I have a question that I don't believe ever got answered....it is how do you get your page rank up? I pasted the little widget box on my site and was wondering if that's all I do and just wait for it to go up?

Second, how do you guys decide who wins? I really like the random number generator but is there one that doesn't charge a fee? Or, do you guys just do it at random in your own head?
Comment by Cake Mom on February 16, 2010 at 6:11pm
For the newbies (and I am a bit of a newbie myself), the best way to get started is to start emailing companies to see if they would be interested in sponsoring a review. It helps, I think, to have a topic-related blog. For example, mine focuses on baking so I contact baking companies, companies that sell sweets, etc. I explain my blog focus, who my readers are and what I would like to do. My emails are fairly short (3-5 sentences).
 

Members (614)

 
 
 

12/23/14 DAILY BLOG PROMPT

A SPECIAL GREETING FROM FRAN DRESCHER

MOM BLOGGERS FOR SOCIAL GOOD

Mom Bloggers for Social Good is a global coalition of 2000+ mom bloggers who currently span over twenty countries and who care about spreading the good news about the amazing work non-profit organizations and NGOs are doing around the world.  Want to make a difference? Please join us!

Toxic Free Blog - by Brittany Glynn


Brittany is a director of the Toxic Free Foundation and created the first ever Toxic Free Certification Program.  Weekly, Brittany publishes the Toxic Free Blog and provides coaching to over 10,000 families in the United States alone.  She is the author of a Toxic Free educational series and co-author of several Toxic Free learning programs. Brittany is also an award winning author. 

© 2014   Created by Mom Bloggers Club.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service