How to Become a Product Reviewer


How to Become a Product Reviewer

Tips, tricks and general advice on how to get in on PR/giveaways for your blog

Members: 626
Latest Activity: Oct 13

Discussion Forum

How To: Product Review-Tips

Started by Monique. Last reply by Barbara Mehmel Jun 8, 2011. 6 Replies

Media Kit Template

Started by Monique. Last reply by Burundanguitas Apr 7, 2011. 6 Replies

Product Reviewing: How to get started

Started by Monique. Last reply by Kimberly Odom Oct 13, 2011. 15 Replies

Comment Wall


You need to be a member of How to Become a Product Reviewer to add comments!

Comment by Rachel DeMille on January 22, 2010 at 1:23am
Hi Cheri,
I haven't had any company that I have contacted expect me to pay for something. A lot of them are grateful you reached out. I also always put in my emails my review policy which includes that I be sent a product that I keep and if there's a giveaway they send it out. I have had a few giveaways where I had to send out the winner's prize, but it was usually coupons so no big deal.
As for companies contacting me, they usually look at my blog and they usually already know that they want to work with me because they are asking me.
Most companies want to work with people who can actually test out their products. So if you don't have any babies, they would probably be a little less hesitant to have you review a baby bottle since you couldn't really do an honest review. If you have little ones nearby (like nieces and nephews) and you want to review a product for that age, then let them know!
Hope that helped...and didn't ramble too much! =) Good luck!
Comment by Cheri Elmore on January 22, 2010 at 1:13am
This is great information from everyone!
One question I have about those of you who contact companies yourself,do some of them expect you to then pay for something, or don't provide a giveaway since you contacted them. Like they take it as you must really want their item...?
& for the ones who also work through other companies to contact them about reviews, do you have to fill out demographic surveys or something to that nature? Or do they look at you to review anything they have whether you fit the product or not? i.e. I have 5 kids but none are younger than 8 yrs old. Would I still be selected to review things like Bob the builder DVD's or Playtex bottles? or they would select me when they have something my family can use? Thx!
Comment by Ellen C on January 21, 2010 at 5:45pm
I'm with my blog spark & one 2 one and have never been asked to do any kind of movie. I get stuff from both but never DVDs.
Comment by Ethel on January 21, 2010 at 2:42pm
Thanks Richele. So Smart emailed me back and they are going to send me some samples to review. I emailed My Blog Spark also and told them that I have not received any emails from them for product reviews. They said they actually sent me twice. But it is fixed now and I hope I will be getting emails from them from now on.
Comment by Heather Manning on January 21, 2010 at 9:13am
Hey guys! What a wealth of information you all are. I'm doing ok finding things to review for kids but I was seeing if anyone had a contact for reviewing music. My 10, almost 11 year old son has been complaining that I'm getting all little kid stuff and nothing that he likes. I thought it would be fun if we reviewed music together, my opinion, his opinion, our opinion, etc.
Thank you!
Comment by Richele on January 21, 2010 at 8:55am
Honestly, the only offers I've had from My Blog Spark and One2One were the ones I mentioned..LOL. I get more from looking at other review blogs and contaction companies on my own.
Comment by Ethel on January 21, 2010 at 8:50am
I found two that I signed up for a review and giveaway at the Product Review Place. Hopefully it will come this week. I never get anything from My Blog Spark or one 2 one. I have been a member there for a few months.
Comment by Golfersmom on January 21, 2010 at 8:44am
Another wY to fin

Another way to find items to review is to join sites such as and Sheblogs has PR companies that post wanting reviews. The Product Place has PR companies as well as other bloggers that post review opportunities. Hope this helps.
Comment by Richele on January 21, 2010 at 8:33am
I thought a lot of ladies get Disney and things of that nature though things like My Blog Spark and One 2 One...I could be wrong. I just got an offer to review Rainbow Brite from one 2 one but I missed the deadline. I am going to review Chocolate Cheerios through My Blog maybe bigger companies funnel offers to review through websites like those. I have seen ladies review Wii games but one told me the company contacted her.

I'd love to learn more also. So, if anyone else knows or has that experience please share. I'm new at this also.
Comment by Ellen C on January 21, 2010 at 5:33am
I've had good response with So Smart. I'd love to figure out how to get in with the Disney ones. Anyone have any idea?

Members (626)




MBC Cutie: Braelyn uploaded by member, Rebecca Hester. Upload your cutie and they may be featured here.

Our Latest Food, Travel & Lifestyle Posts


Ask any pregnant woman and she will tell you that now she’s expecting what once smelled delicious  - like roasting coffee beans for example, has suddenly become the one smell that induces an overwhelming feeling of nausea. For some women the pregnant nose goes into smell overdrive…

Black Friday – it’s Not Just About Fashion

Fashion, eh? It comes and goes, then comes back around again, at once fleeting and eternal. A style is in one month and then is never heard of again – until it is heard of again, of course.

The quest for fashionable clothes never ends; it’s just that what is in vogue is always changing.…


© 2016   Created by Mom Bloggers Club.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service