I'm just starting out doing some reviews and would love to be able to offer give-aways to my readers. (I just think they're so fun).
Here's my question, when you want to do give-aways, is it best to go after the companies you like, or let them come to you via PR people?
How did you begin doing give-aways on your blog?

Views: 29

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Most of my giveaways come from sponsors approaching me. That said, there is no reason not to write to them and ask. When I did my 3mth long promotion on my food blog, I approached many advertisers...many said no but a lot said yes. So, I would target the smaller places like the esty store owners, etc;)
I started by reviewing products I already had. I even did a couple giveaways where I purchased the prize. Then I started contacting companies, after awhile PR people and companies started coming to me. I still contact companies, but I'd say about half of what I review (at least) or giveaway is from a company contacting me.
I tried doing giveaways twice - using my own products, haven't used sponsered products or getting companies to promote theirs but it hasn't really taken off on my blog yet. Maybe when the readership goes up I may try again.
I'm diggin' the info so far. I'm very close to hosting my first EVER giveaway and I am stoked. However, any other knowledge/expertise is still extremely sought after. :)
I love being a part of MBC. You gals rock!
My first giveaway was a company that approached me because I'm an eco-friendly mom. It kind of started from there. Now I am up to my 4th giveaway. That's not a lot compared to the people who do one a day, but it's a great beginning :)